The One With Mess And Dirt

So, let’s talk about the mess and dirt that comes with arts and crafts at home…

I used to be a very neat, tidy, clean person. So much so, that at university my house mates nicknamed me Monica! I have been known to spend days cleaning my house and never used to go to bed without arranging my sofa cushions. Then ten years ago I got a cat. My cat is mainly white and her hair gets everywhere. I rescued her and she doesn’t like going outside so she uses a litter tray which is smelly and dirty. On top of that she loves to chuck up. I remember when she first came to live with me, I used to vacuum every day, even the bed! But that soon stopped. Then of course I had twins and now I find I tidy up all day and the house is still a mess.

Most parents will tell you their house is not clean and to ignore the mess. I hate to look behind any furniture in my house. I suspect I am growing penicillin somewhere. But none of this compares to the mess and the dirt created by toddlers doing arts and crafts at home.

Last weekend most of the UK was hit by a storm. Daddy had pre-warned me and we had already decided we weren’t going to leave the house. Before children this would have involved a pj day and a chance to watch a film or two. Now it’s a mission to entertain two energetic toddlers. Thing 1 and Thing 2 are full of energy and need constant activities so I thought it would be a good idea to plan a couple of arty activities during the day.

In the morning we tried making pasta and cereal hoop necklaces. I gave myself a pat on the back for finding an activity that created very little mess and gave The Things an opportunity to improve their new found threading skills. They were very good at threading but ate most of the cereal so we didn’t end up with a finished product. Never mind. Better that than cereal all over the front room. I was finding dried pasta for days after, but thankfully it’s easy to clean up.

In the afternoon I decided to be brave and get the paints out. I tried to be really prepared and I set everything up in the kitchen thinking Thing 1 and Thing 2 could do the least damage in there. I covered the floor, I covered the table and I have long sleeved aprons for Thing 1 and Thing 2. Within about 30 seconds l realised I had no cover for myself but quickly found my plastic apron that I used to wear when l had time to bake.

Almost instantly I could see how much damage The Things could do with paint, paint brushes and sponges. The paint was all over The Things pretty quickly and their little paint splattered hands found the kitchen cupboards, the washing machine and the dishwasher…. and I was frantically running around trying to wipe it all off.

Things 1 and 2 played with the paints for about half an hour. During that half an hour I went between panic that paint would be everywhere and telling myself off because I need to give them space to be creative without a neurotic mother hang around them panicking every time they step away from the paint.

I do my best to try not to worry about mess and dirt. I know that Thing 1 and Thing 2 learn through play and exploring. They don’t care about mess and dirt. They like to have fun and enjoy activities and I try my best to go along with it. If me from ten years ago could see this she would have a meltdown but I just need to keep thinking about what is right for The Things. I am looking forward to the weather getting warmer so I can at least move the messy activities outside.

Leave a comment