The One With Social Distancing

If you read my very first blog, you will know that when I was pregnant my biggest fear was never getting to see any decent theatre again. It was a genuine fear of having to watch TV adaptations on stage in an auditorium full of children. I started the blog to find my way back to the world of arts, culture and theatre and to find a way of enjoying it with Things 1 and Thing 2. Over the past year I have been pleasantly surprised that with a bit of searching there are plenty of things I can enjoy with my children. While I still love a night at the theatre with Daddy or my friends, I have found some wonderful activities that myself and The Things can enjoy.

Fast forward a year and now we all find ourselves in this bleak state where we are observing social distancing and staying away from crowds. That means no theatre, cinemas, museums, galleries, events or festivals. Whilst I completely understand why this has to happen, it is still my worst nightmare. Like so many other people we have had regular classes and performances we had purchased tickets for cancelled, and we have no idea when we are going to be able to get out and enjoy arts and culture again.

We are still at the beginning of this process and being realistic, it could be months before I see the inside of a theatre again. So, how am I going to survive?  And how am I going to keep two energetic toddlers occupied in the confines of our own house? Firstly, I am going to have to learn how to work technology. We have lots, I know it can do stuff, I just don’t know how to make it. We have a smart TV and an Xbox attached to that TV, but I still haven’t figured out how to access the internet on my TV. So far, we have just been using my little laptop to watch things online.

I feel a bit overwhelmed by the online options available to me and Things 1 and 2 now. I take my hat of the many creative people who are keeping us going through this time by live streaming events, creating their own YouTube channels or making performances available online. It’s just that there are so many, and I need to get the tech working so I can sort out some kind of new daily routine in our house.

We have already managed a live streamed gig with the brilliant Rock the Tots. They are going to be live streaming every Thursday morning at 11am. Its free with an option to make a donation. We have also signed up to http://www.magicalmusiconline.com which has been created by Jean, who runs our regular music class. She is offering a seven-day free trial.

Both of these have been great because they are familiar to Things 1 and 2. They concentrated for the whole of the Rock the Tots gig, playing instruments and dancing along. I know they recognised Steph and Craig and kept pointing at the logo and saying ‘Rock the Tots’. They sat through half an hour of music videos with Magical Music and Movement and joined in with the actions. They enjoyed seeing a familiar face singing to them.

Once I have got the big TV situation sorted, I am hoping to watch a recording of The Snow Mouse which The Egg in Bath have made available online. I am also aware of the numerous musicals I can now access and hopefully we can watch The Wind in the Willows at some point to.

Live streaming and watching recorded performances aren’t the same as being in a live theatre but right now it is all we have. This is the only way to get my theatre fix and keep everyone safe.

Stay healthy and sane everyone!

Leave a comment