The One Without Theatres

I haven’t written a blog for months. I started my blog as a way of sharing arts and culture with my children, because I couldn’t access it the way I used to and I missed it.

I have had some great adventures with Thing 1 and Thing 2. I had been really enjoying writing the blog and sharing opportunities for parents to access the things I love and enjoy with their children.

Then the pandemic happened. It still feels a bit unreal and like we are living in a disaster film. The whole world stopped. All the things I was just starting to enjoy again stopped. Like many other people, I also lost work.

For the first few weeks I managed to stay positive about everything. I was watching stage shows online, The Things and I were enjoying live streams and regular classes and it felt quite innovative. I quite enjoyed it all and it filled the gap, but that gap has got bigger.

Even as things start to get back to ‘normal’ there is still no news on when indoor live performances can happen again at full capacity. I have been thinking for weeks that if theatres can just open for their pantomime then they will just scrape through. Then last week we had the announcements that pantomimes are being cancelled all over the country.

All in all it’s been hard to write about anything. I like to try and be positive with my blog but I haven’t been feeling very positive.

There is however, some light at the end of the tunnel. I have just this week booked an outdoor performance at The Pound. I see that our friends at Rock the Tots have started to do some socially distanced performances and the brilliant Music For Miniatures also has a programme of outdoor performances. Museums and galleries are also opening and we have visited our local museum in Chippenham this week. Each booking is a private viewing of the museum so it was great having the place to ourselves.

The gaping hole in my life is never going to be completely filled until I can go to the theatre but I need to get back out there (socially distanced of course) and support what is happening and hope I can get to the theatre soon.

Leave a comment