The One With A Private Viewing

Things have changed drastically since the beginning of the pandemic. Most aspects of our lives are very different now and we are all learning to adapt. The arts and culture sector are no different, in fact they are facing big challenges in order to reopen and get people back into their spaces and engaging again.  Personally, I have found not all changes have been bad. 

Chippenham Museum, our local, opened its doors to the public again just a few weeks ago. Like all buildings, they have had to think about the visitor experience and how to keep their staff and visitors safe in the current climate. One of the new measures they have put in place is that you need to book in advance and every visit is a private viewing of the museum. Whilst this means you can’t just walk along the high street and think you might just pop in and see the latest exhibition, it does mean you get the museum to yourself. I thought this sounded quite exciting – so obviously, I had to check it out!  

I had been contacted by the museum to see if I would help them out with a vlog. Of course, I said yes (I will share it with you when it’s online) and I booked a slot to take Things 1 and 2 back to the museum. We have been lots of times in the past but never had the place to ourselves.  

It was great! My worry when I visit anywhere is the impact we will have on other people’s experience. Thing 1 and Thing 2 do not find it easy to stay still and whilst they aren’t always shouting, they are by no means quiet. I did not have to worry about this at all while we were on this visit. We had a good look around the museum and I could talk to The Things about what they were looking at. As always, they enjoyed anything interactive. They love pushing buttons, colouring in and trying on costumes. Thing 1 and Thing 2 could move around the museum at their own pace and engage with whatever they wanted. It was great fun. 

I have always enjoyed visiting Chippenham Museum, mainly because most of their exhibits are behind glass. This means The Things can look and not touch anything. There is one section which is just roped off, so of course, Things 1 and 2 were in there, under the barrier in a flash before I could stop them. At least we didn’t have an audience as I coaxed them back out.

Like so many people, I am trying to find some positives in amongst the mess that has been 2020. A private view at the museum is definitely one of them.

Leave a comment